It is currently 17 Oct 2017, 17:21
Buy.com Win Your Bid Today At eBay! GoDaddy.com Hosting & Servers 7-day Free trial of Napster Blockbuster Total Access, Plans as low as $3.99

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 23 Nov 2009, 17:41 
25
User avatar

Joined: 27 May 2008, 16:14
Posts: 3445
Location: New Orleans, LA
Offline
I need some help please.

Im thinking of getting dual monitors as a christmas present for someone. Can someone please tell me what all i need to buy (like is there anything extra beside buying two monitors, switches or something??)

Also, they have one monitor already, can I just buy one extra to match it? How much do you think this will cost?

Any help is greatly appreciated as I am totally lost.

_________________
You gotta be special, smell greatness and Finish Strong! - Drew Brees


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 23 Nov 2009, 18:23 
Been here too long
User avatar

Joined: 26 Jun 2009, 09:41
Posts: 1333
Location: Jacksonville, FL
0_0: O_o?
Offline
you can get a new lcd for ~$80. check out newegg.com
all you need is power for the monitor & the video cord, both of which usually come with it. you should also check to make sure their video card has a port for a second monitor, its pretty standard on most laptops, but i'm not sure about desktops. have fun :D

_________________
Quote:
[23:45] enlever: Ugh, I officially hate white heads >.<
[23:46] ro: im sorry, we'll all go decapitate ourselves..
[23:46] inthebetween: YAY GROUP DECAPITATION


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 23 Nov 2009, 18:26 
Keeps it bukkake
User avatar

Joined: 15 May 2008, 21:01
Posts: 3332
Location: million dolla west hollywood balla mansion
Offline
wouldn't a BJ be a much cheaper and more appreciable gift?

_________________
One morning I woke up and found my favorite pigeon, Julius, had died I was devastated and was gonna use his crate as my stickball bat to honor him. I left the crate on my stoop and went in to get something and I returned to see the sanitation man put the crate into the crusher. I rushed him and caught him flush on the temple with a titanic right hand he was out cold, convulsing on the floor like a infantile retard. - Mike Tyson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 23 Nov 2009, 18:49 
Post Whore
User avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 16:01
Posts: 836
Location: Bristol, U.K
Offline
If you're offering Fear yes it would.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2009, 06:30 
Been here too long
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jun 2009, 06:16
Posts: 1162
Location: over here...
0_0: [_]? or |=---|
Offline
I have a graphics card with a DVI out and a VGA out (DVI = the white one, VGA = the blue one). If you have that make sure you end up with at least one monitor with a DVI and your sorted. Also I'd get a monitor of the same size/resolution as the one he/she has already, its better that way.

If you want to be anal about it, go nvidia sli and buy loads of new shit... woo hoo

_________________
aaaye...ess ess...h ooh...el eee... Your an asshole!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2009, 11:08 
25
User avatar

Joined: 27 May 2008, 16:14
Posts: 3445
Location: New Orleans, LA
Offline
Thanks peeps. Im clueless when it comes to shit like this.

_________________
You gotta be special, smell greatness and Finish Strong! - Drew Brees


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2009, 21:13 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
You need a graphics card with 2 outputs wether thats VGA, DVI, HDMI, S-VID.

Most Bog standard Graphics cards have Both VGA and DVI these days so just get 2 monitors and if you need to buy an adapter so be it, they are like £7 over here

Image

So ideally the back of their computer will look like that...

The adapter thingy

Image

I Actually use 2 Televisions as my monitors as i believe the new HD TV's with PC inputs are better than PC monitors they come out at roughly the same price if not cheaper

If they have an Nvidia Graphics card or an ATi one they have dual monitor wizzards that are better than the windows software too

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 01:52 
Buster Himen
User avatar

Joined: 16 Apr 2008, 13:22
Posts: 1363
Location: Las Vegas, NV
0_0: USA
Offline
or if he doesnt have a desktop and you dont want to get in over your head you buy one of these


http://www.multi-monitors.com/SUPER_PC_Multi_Monitor_Adapters_USB_VGA_Matrox_Head2Go_s/22.htm

keep in mind what peterman and others left out is most desktops with standard power supply unit will not support the new video cards required power so then you have to buy the video card, a new power supply, install both and then configure both monitors.

i have found the USB to VGA to work much easier.

_________________
"I replaced the headlights in my car with strobe lights, so it looks like I'm the only one moving."

"I went to a general store. They wouldn't let me buy anything specifically."


-Steven Wright


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 12:02 
Mod
User avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2008, 21:30
Posts: 7415
Location: Out of State
0_0: Hawkeye Nation
Offline
you ogtta have a video card that allows for 2 outputs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 15:43 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
justjukie wrote:
keep in mind what peterman and others left out is most desktops with standard power supply unit will not support the new video cards required power so then you have to buy the video card


Lies most cards up yo 1gb will run of 450w

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 17:37 
Buster Himen
User avatar

Joined: 16 Apr 2008, 13:22
Posts: 1363
Location: Las Vegas, NV
0_0: USA
Offline
and most over the counter desktops only come with 250 or 300w PSU

_________________
"I replaced the headlights in my car with strobe lights, so it looks like I'm the only one moving."

"I went to a general store. They wouldn't let me buy anything specifically."


-Steven Wright


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 20:48 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
god sucks to be American i guess... 240v ftw

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 21:32 
Billionaire Boys Club Chairman

Joined: 22 Jul 2008, 15:12
Posts: 4952
0_0: can i be there
Offline
but we only pay pennies per kWh

_________________
story of a forum of win
that was deemed too big to fail
and it did indeed fail


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 21:40 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
I just wanna know how your next door neighbours lights don't dim when you put the TV on, you guys are on 120v over there is it?

Face it you guys are in the dark ages with your electricity supplies....

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2009, 05:32 
Been here too long
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jun 2009, 06:16
Posts: 1162
Location: over here...
0_0: [_]? or |=---|
Offline
I think it's 110v my good sport, which is just safer tbh, its current watt makes shit work not voltage.. see watt I did there..

_________________
aaaye...ess ess...h ooh...el eee... Your an asshole!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2009, 11:46 
Billionaire Boys Club Chairman

Joined: 22 Jul 2008, 15:12
Posts: 4952
0_0: can i be there
Offline
Mark Peterman wrote:
I just wanna know how your next door neighbours lights don't dim when you put the TV on, you guys are on 120v over there is it?

Face it you guys are in the dark ages with your electricity supplies....


the best quote I ever heard was from an Iranian guy (born there) who worked for a power company: "your energy infrastructure makes the Third World look like it was master planned by Romans."

_________________
story of a forum of win
that was deemed too big to fail
and it did indeed fail


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2009, 12:48 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
ThePot wrote:
I think it's 110v my good sport, which is just safer tbh, its current watt makes shit work not voltage.. see watt I did there..


it aint voltage that kills you its amps more voltage = less amps so no 240 is less likely to kill you.

cept when you get to power station voltage thats just a no brainer

The reason 240 volts is better is because less energy is wasted when it travels over distance

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2009, 17:10 
Have you tried turning it off and on again
User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2008, 02:53
Posts: 5463
Location: Earth-52
0_0: Fortress of solitude
Offline
Energy loss = I^2 * R * t

I feel I should join in this discussion because I was an Electrical and Electronics engineering major, but............ehhh I'm too lazy.

_________________
YerlA wrote:
I do have tits, and I'm not afraid to show them...I just choose who I want to show them to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2009, 22:15 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
crimsonred wrote:
Energy loss = I^2 * R * t

I feel I should join in this discussion because I was an Electrical and Electronics engineering major, but............ehhh I'm too lazy.


amritethough?

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 27 Nov 2009, 10:49 
Been here too long
User avatar

Joined: 30 Jun 2009, 06:16
Posts: 1162
Location: over here...
0_0: [_]? or |=---|
Offline
I think your right about the fact that higher voltage travels better, more voltage = less current, therefore less energy loss. But I'm still pretty sure that 220-230v is more dangerous to have contact with. :idk: Maybe our resident electrical engineer is feeling less lazy today and will enlighten us.

_________________
aaaye...ess ess...h ooh...el eee... Your an asshole!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 27 Nov 2009, 11:47 
Have you tried turning it off and on again
User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2008, 02:53
Posts: 5463
Location: Earth-52
0_0: Fortress of solitude
Offline
Well you are technically right because for a given power, higher the voltage, lesser the current. And current is what hurts people. But the fact is whatever the current level might be, it is important to consider the resistance of the human body. Even if current in the 110v is double than 220/230v, the resistance of the paths chosen by the currents could be different, thus giving diff. resistances. More the resistance, less the chances of getting a shock. Around 10-12mA is enough for a pretty powerful shock.

_________________
YerlA wrote:
I do have tits, and I'm not afraid to show them...I just choose who I want to show them to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 27 Nov 2009, 15:12 
Been here too long
User avatar

Joined: 26 Jun 2009, 09:41
Posts: 1333
Location: Jacksonville, FL
0_0: O_o?
Offline
i love how you guys can take a simple question, turn it upside down and into gibberish.. :/

_________________
Quote:
[23:45] enlever: Ugh, I officially hate white heads >.<
[23:46] ro: im sorry, we'll all go decapitate ourselves..
[23:46] inthebetween: YAY GROUP DECAPITATION


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 27 Nov 2009, 17:06 
Spam Warrior
User avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2008, 20:42
Posts: 3123
Location: 32° 20'N, 64° 45'W
0_0: UK
Offline
me and crim have been perfecting the art for donkeys

_________________
"One Man Wolf Pack"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dual Monitors
PostPosted: 28 Nov 2009, 13:18 
Billionaire Boys Club Chairman

Joined: 22 Jul 2008, 15:12
Posts: 4952
0_0: can i be there
Offline
no no no No No NO NO NO NO NO HEE HAW HHEE HAW HEE HAW

_________________
story of a forum of win
that was deemed too big to fail
and it did indeed fail


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme Created by HOLLYSMOKE
Buy.com Win Your Bid Today At eBay! GoDaddy.com Hosting & Servers 7-day Free trial of Napster Blockbuster Total Access, Plans as low as $3.99